West Berkshire Council

Local Government

Our Council

West Berkshire Council is a unitary authority responsible for the full range of local authority services. It was created in April 1998 when we took on the provision of all principle council services for the area from the then Newbury District Council and Berkshire County Council.

We employ over 1,500 staff, not including those based in schools, and currently have three main offices in Newbury as well as smaller satellite offices across the district..

The council has 52 Councillors with the Conservatives retaining their majority at the 2015 general election. A Leader and Cabinet (known as the Executive) model was adopted in May 2001. There is an Overview and Scrutiny Commission and a Health Scrutiny Panel which provide critical challenge to the council's Executive. This includes the review and monitoring of our performance, and delivery of the Local Area Agreement targets.

You can find out more about our council on our Working for West Berkshire Council page.

Parish and Town Councils

Parish and town councils are elected and have their own responsibilities for issues focussed on their individual communities. These include the provision of local facilities such as play areas, community centres, allotments and bus shelters.

There are 118 town and parish councils in West Berkshire. 
If you're thinking of relocating to, or within, West Berkshire and would like to know how areas may change you can also find a community vision from each council which sets out how they want to develop their community in the next five to ten years.